The Joys of Home Ownership

While I have been talking alot about finding the house… I have not talked alot about actual home ownership. For some reason even the bad things about owning my own home doesn’t scare me. I can’t wait to own my home for all the positive reasons… the dirty dishes in the sink will be mine and only mine, I can do laundry at any time I want and not worry about other people’s laundry being in the way. If I want peace and quiet all I have to do is turn off the TV or Radio and I will have it. I won’t have to worry about someone parking in my parking spot. 

On the flip side… I will have to mow the lawn, shovel the walk / driveway,  pull the weeds, wash the windows (inside and out) and clean up after the storm. All of which I am surprisingly looking forward to. The funny thing about all of these… there are people out there who seem to think I can’t do these things. While shoveling the walk in a Chicago winter doesn’t really excite me… I can put on multiple layers and get my workout on shoveling snow.

Home ownership brings the good with the bad… and I am actually looking forward to both the good and the bad.

2 responses to “The Joys of Home Ownership

  1. I owned a house for four years, and have mixed feelings about it. I loved, loved, loved the peace and quiet, but the maintenance is a lot to handle if you live alone. I too thought I’d have the time and energy, but that’s not always case. My advice? Don’t be ashamed to pay people to do some things, if you can afford it. I started doing that when I was selling mine, and I wished I’d been doing it all along.

Leave a Reply

