The dreaded question…

Why’s a girl like you still single? Good come back… I don’t know, why are you married? These day’s when I think about all the cheating I see going on in the news… what is the point exactly?

Yep, I’m single… I am a 30 something… successful (at least in my eyes) gainfully employed, own my own house, no major debt, no children, not crazy (at least I don’t think so, down to earth, pretty and smart woman. So why am I still single?

Most days my answer is because I enjoy my freedom, but in reality, I am not sure I do things that I wouldn’t do if I were in a relationship. My other reason… I haven’t met the “right” man yet. I do say yet, I hold out hope that there is someone out there and it isn’t someone I passed in the store or saw one night at the bar oh so long ago. As I have been unpacking, I have come across letters from ex-boyfriends… reading them I wonder what if I would have stayed on that path where would I be today, who would I be today. I think all the choices we make (good and bad) help us become who we are today… so I wonder, what if I would have said yes instead of no.

Back to answering the question, my favorite answer by far, I heard in the movie Just Wright – “I just haven’t found what I am looking for… The one I can’t live without.” So far I have dated many a guy some very different from one another… some similar to one another… and yet at the time, not a one has been one that I want to live my life without. Let alone someone I want to share my life with. Sure there have been a few that I thought, well maybe… but then when I stepped back and examined what I was really looking at or feeling… something inside said nope at the time.  What is your come back to the question?

3 responses to “The dreaded question…

  1. i think that’s a great line. On the other side of the spectrum, I often get “aren’t you too young to be married?” oh well…you can’t make everyone happy!

  2. 🙂 So true! I am so happy that you have found your one! I am going to enjoy following your blog… all your updates on your house are wonderful!

Leave a comment