DIY Fairy Gardens

This weekend, my mom and I attended a class on building/creating Fairy Gardens. Blumen Gardens was offering a crafts and cocktails afternoon. Sounded like a great girls day out, garden stuff and drinks. So we headed out for our trip to Blumen Gardens… it was about 2 hours from my parents house. So I headed out early to their house and we started on our way. Upon our arrival, we had some time to walk around and see lots of great plants. So our class was about to get underway. We were given an empty box and some basic explanations. Next we would fill our box with dirt, and pick out plants for our fairy garden. Some of the people brought items from home, some picked out a lot of additional items to add to their gardens. My mom and I focused mainly on the plants and rocks. As we didn’t have a lot of ideas as to what we were doing. So my original fairy garden looked like this.

All this for $15 plus a watermelon mojito (really tasty) 🙂

However, today, as I was looking at the fairy garden, I wasn’t happy with it. It didn’t turn out how I wanted, and I had more ideas of what I could do. I actually created two fairy gardens from my original one.

New Fairy Garden #1 –  Using a bucket that I was going to plant in, this was the perfect plan for the bucket.

New Fairy Garden #2 – using the box we got at the class

This is a really fun craft/gardening idea… next is to add accessories. Hobby Lobby here I come. I think in the doll house sections we will find some cute stuff.

3 responses to “DIY Fairy Gardens

  1. How creative! So, I don’t have a creative bone in my body. And I’ve killed every plant I’ve ever had. So I’m just going to live vicariously through you from here on out…

  2. Excellent post – thanks. Really informative and straight to the point. Keep up the great work and I’ve subscribed to your RSS 🙂

  3. Thanks for reading! Catherine… there are lots of plants that take little work… let me know if you would like a list. For now, I have to say, I have actually seen growth in my Fairy Gardens, in less than a week. Amazing. 🙂

Leave a comment